Monday, June 13, 2011

INSIDE OUT by Lauren Dane

Brown Family Series Book 3
Publisher: Penguin
Date published: November 2nd, 2010
ISBN: 978-0-425-23688-8
Erotic Contemporary Romance
Reviewed by Dawn
Obtained by Self-purchase

Ella Tipton survived a brutal attack from someone who she loved…once and now in the years since then, she has remade herself into a strong, independent woman that she used to be. Having day dreams about sexy, hunky Andrew Copeland was just the icing on the cake to Ella’s mind. Needless to say finding out he wants her-scars and all-has her ready to either throw up or to jump in with her eyes closed. Can Ella let her guard down long enough for Andrew to sneak in and steal her heart?

Andrew Copeland is the ultimate bad boy with a heart of gold. He has wanted Ella for years and when they are finally able to hook up; Andrew finds that this is the woman who is meant to be his in all ways. Andrew has his work cut out for him, though for Ella won’t be happy with just part of his heart-she wants the whole package. Can Andrew find a way to calm his fears and allow Ella to turn him INSIDE OUT?

I fell in love with the Brown siblings from the moment they stepped on the pages of LAID BARE and I found a series that had me running the gauntlet of emotions. I smiled, laughed and cried with each book and believe me, the poor Kleenex box next to me always groaned when I started sniffling half way through INSIDE OUT.

Ms. Dane always does a masterful job in creating a story that will leave you breathless and wanting more. The writing was tight, the story flowed nicely and the characters had me swooning. All the characters from the first two books are back and this time we get to see bad boy playboy Andrew “Cope” Copeland find his match in Ella Tipton. What really had me sighing in delight was watching this big, alpha male turn to mush with Ella and not be afraid to show it to other people how much she meant to him. These are characters that you wish were around in real life to hang out with, laugh and be friends with. They felt that alive to me while reading these three books. I have to point out that it is best to read these in order-LAID BARE, COMING UNDONE and then INSIDE OUT-to get the full back-story of the other characters that continue to pop up in all the books.

Meet Ella Tipton. We met her in the first book and I immediately loved her. She had a rough time but finding the strength to grow, finding who she is now and is still dealing with the panic attacks that hit her every now and again, Ella is one tough cookie. She is a woman I could easily see being friends with, grabbing a coffee or calling up for a day of shopping. She was a survivor and I was able to relate to her. She isn’t a whiny character either going “poor me” every twenty pages either. She is fun, happy and though she has a few setbacks, she is falling in love with the one man she has crushed about.

Andrew “Cope” Copeland was the ultimate laid back ladies man, flitting from woman to woman, never settling for one as he waited for Ella to finally be at the same place he is. Friends for years, Cope is an all around decent man with a heart of gold, loves his friends and family and finds himself wanting what they have-a woman to call his own and a family of his own. What I love about his big, macho man was that this author wasn’t afraid to show his vulnerabilities…literally laying them bare in the pages of INSIDE OUT for the world to see. It was humbling and a delight at the same time. That is what made me fall a little bit more in love with Cope as a character. We saw his hidden fears, the ones that had him sweating late at night when no one was looking and that endeared me to him even more.

The best part of this series, in my opinion, was the fact we see the characters grow and mature with each book. Life throws them curveballs and they find themselves falling for strong, independent women who know they deserve to be loved and respected. This is at the core of this series and in several of this author’s stories I have read. INSIDE OUT is one of the best books this author has written and I cannot wait to see the final Brown Family book coming later this year is about. Lauren Dane writes interesting characters that deal with life head on, fall head over heels in love and sweep their woman off their feet. She is master at creating stories that hit every emotion a person can feel and then leave them wanting more in the end. If you haven’t picked up any of these series books or other ones by this author, I highly recommend you run to grab them. Ms. Dane is automatically on my auto-buy list now and I cannot wait to see what she has up her sleeve next for her readers.

This is an objective review and not an endorsement of this book.

No comments: