Saturday, September 8, 2012

FINDING DESTINY by Jean Johnston

A Sons of Destiny Series Book
Publisher: Berkley Sensation
Date published: January 4th, 2011
ISBN. 978-0-425-23862-2
Fantasy Romance
Obtained by publisher
Reviewed by Dawn

Four novellas in one book set in the world of the Sons of Destiny series where danger, passion and more abound. Set in four nations: Sundara, the desert nation, Guildara, the high-tech nation, Arual, the most prosperous nation & Jenodan Isles, the Seafaring nation, in the magical world created by Jean Johnson.

The Slave tells a tale of a priestess who discovers an unexpected connection to a nobleman/slave who has secrets that may destroy their newfound love.

The Knight tells a tale of a diplomat who must try to turn a fragile bond between Arual and Guildara into something more permanent. When the diplomat Sir Zeilas meets the Guildaran’s leader, sparks fly.

The Mage tells a tale of a woman who thinks she is on a mission to forge ties with the King of Arual when instead she is his proposed bride. With the fate of two nations hanging in the balance, can she find a way to forgive the deception played on her and fall in love with the King?

The Pirate tells a tale of ships being plagued by pirates in the Jenodan Isles. When Capt. Ellett is sent to defeat the pirates, he finds something much more enticing-the pirate captain, Mita, a sexy woman who may just steal his heart.

If you haven’t read this author’s Sons of Destiny series than you might get a bit lost as these are short novellas set in that magical world. But for me this was a really good introduction to the series and I found that each story was unique in itself and highly enjoyable. Though each story is a bit different, the reader can enjoy how intricate this magical world is. I enjoyed finding out more about each nation and how they interconnect with one another. The writing is tight, stories flowed nicely from one to the other and the characters are very well written.

Each story is set in one of the nations populated in the Sons of Destiny series and the readers are treated to a chance to know the people and lands better. I found each story to be fresh, amusing and enjoyable all around though a few of the stories could have had been better off as longer stories as I wanted to know more about the characters and the nation. Jean Johnson is an amazing world builder and this collection of novellas is no exception. This is a rich world full of amazing people and nations that these four short novellas just wetted my appetite for more. If you haven’t read any of the Sons of Destiny books then this is your chance to get a feel of this author’s writing style and some of the places in the series. Each story is a wonderful ride from start to finish and the reader is left aching for more. The characters are very well written and the stories moved at a nice even pace.

FINDING DESTINY is a wonderful book that has me racing to read the Sons of Destiny series now. I look forward to seeing what else this author can come up with in the future.


No comments: