Tuesday, November 2, 2010


A-Tac Series Book 1
Publisher: Hachette Books
Date published: April 2010
ISBN: 978-0-446-54201-2
Romantic Suspense
Mass Market Paperback
Reviewed by Tammy
Obtained via: publisher

The first in Dee Davis’ three-book A-Tac series, DARK DECEPTIONS, is a sizzling tale of betrayal, forgiveness, secrets and seduction.

Covert operative Nash Brennon is tasked with bringing in his former partner and lover Annie Gallagher, who eight years before betrayed him on a mission and then vanished leaving Nash to die. Now she is back and is a threat to national security.

Annie’s old life has come back to haunt her when her young son is kidnapped by terrorists and she is tasked with assassinating a UN ambassador in return for her son’s return. When Nash catches Annie with the ambassador in her sights, will he be able to believe her story and find a way to trust in Annie once again or will their past be too much for Nash to overcome?

Dee Davis’ DARK DECEPTIONS is a suspense-filled military romance with continuous action and intrigue. Though it is obvious what some of the secrets are, the unfolding is cleverly brought to light and the tension in the storyline is undeniable. Annie is a mother through and through, while at the same time she is a trained assassin who has not lost her edge. It is easy to see how Nash could be conflicted with his trust issues. The lesser characters are fleshed out and all worthy of their own stories. The final twists and turns one lesser character makes were both shocking and yet somewhat anticipated at the same time.

Romantic suspense fans who enjoy intrigue and action will find DARK DECEPTIONS right up their alley. This reader eagerly looks forward to the next two books in Davis’ A-Tac series.

This is an objective review and not an endorsement of this book.

No comments: