Sunday, October 28, 2012


Publisher:   Avon
Date published:   June 29, 2010
ISBN:  978-0061733970
Genre:   Historical Romance
Book format:  Paperback
Obtained via:  Publisher
Reviewed by name and email address:  Gina

Kate Madsen has led a quiet life on the moors. Passing the time in her cottage reading she’s longed for adventure but never quite stepped out of her safe world to find even the smallest journey from her safe world by the sea. Then one day, for seeming no reason at all, she is kidnapped.  The kidnappers believe her to be a woman named Kate Fox and despite her protestations that her last name is Madsen they take her with them. But the kidnappers have a sudden change of heart. Well, not really a change of heart but a different direction. Instead of turning her over to the men who paid for her kidnapping they make a present of her to Rohan, Duke of Warrington.

Rohan Kilburn, Duke or Warrington, is perhaps the best assassin of the Order of St. Michael. A trained killing machine he feels nothing when he ends the life of an enemy. Or does he?  While he does not sit and mull over each kill, he does bury himself with each woman he comes across. Often forgetting their names he finds peace only in having sex. He’s not about to say no to the rather lovely Kate. He makes a valiant attempt to seduce her, but unbeknownst to him, the kidnappers drugged her. Despite a passionate response to Rohan, Kate passes out before they can culminate a physical relationship. The next morning, after Kate attempts to take her life rather than become Rohan’s plaything he has second thoughts about his actions. For the first time in his life Rohan puts the needs of another ahead of him.

Well actually not for the first time—he is loyal to the Order and therefore his country, but when it comes to women he’s enjoyed each one and moved on to the next. Something about Kate touches him in a way he has never been touched before.  But then a part of Kate’s history comes to light and Rohan must decide if she is evil or goodness personified. With his heart quickly becoming Kate’s he has little time to sort through his feelings.

I was on the fence about book 1 of Gaelen Foley’s Inferno Club series, MY WICKED MARQUESS.  Despite an intriguing story line of secret orders and clandestine alliances the story left me cold. The characters started out one way and morphed from interesting to mediocre pseudo young adults.  Still, the series promise some good reading so I went on to book 2, MY DANGEROUS DUKE. I’m glad I did.

While the beginning of MY DANGEROUS DUKE reminded me more of a Norman/Saxon romance with Rohan’s posturing and Kate as a trapped victim, the story quickly became a solid read. I liked Kate’s spunk and intelligence. She doesn’t back down and not only knows what she wants but how to get it. The scene where she essentially defies her father and states she will not wed the man he tells her she needs to is well done. I had some issues with Rohan with his attitude towards women—really, he can’t go a day without sex?  But then, as the story unfolds the reader is taken into his heart and hidden fears the reader sees the layers of why he buries himself in sex—the emotional release, the need to connect on some level, the fact that he himself is used by the women he consorts with. His acceptance of himself and coming to terms with his own irrational beliefs through Kate’s loving him is well done.

There is a touch of the INDIANA JONES action and adventure toward the end of the story that could have made a wrong turn but Ms. Foley does a great job with it.  I found myself holding my breath a couple of times as Rohan and Kate pursue the Promethean’s secret hiding place.

I’m eager to dig into book 3, MY IRRESTIBLE EARL.

This is an objective review and not an endorsement of this book.

No comments: